About Me!

Drag to rearrange sections
Rich Text Content

Howdy!

What is "Howdy?"

Howdy is the official greeting at Texas A&M University, and as a graduate, it is something that has always stuck with me and you will continue to hear from me. I continue this greeting because to me, it seems friendly and enthusiastic compared to a typical "Hello."

Childhood

I was born and raised in Houston, Texas. I grew up living in and around the Heights area. Once I was school aged, my parents decided to homeschool me. My mother was a high school math teacher for 10 years before I was born, and her natural teaching abilities made her the best teacher I could have asked for. I was homeschooled all the way through high school, but I did not just stay in the house all day or only learn at home. As a homeschooler, I took weekly classes at a Co-Op for other homeschoolers, I took dual credit classes at Houston Community College, and I was involved in many outside activities including: Boy Scouts of America, Martial Arts, and Violin Lessons. Some would say that I am at a disadvantage having never been in the public school system, but I would argue instead that I am at an advantage. I do not teach the way I was taught, but am instead able to be unbiased in my teaching style to teach the way that will most benefit my students.

College

After graduating high school, I applied and was accepted to the only school I ever wanted to attend: Texas A&M University. I applied for a major in mathematics and never looked back. My sophomore year, I joined the Corps of Cadets, an ROTC/Military/Professional program that is one of the only 7 Senior Military Programs in the country. Throughout my time in the Corps, I was able to take 12 hours of Leadership classes, and get countless hours of leadership experience living on campus with the rest of the Corps. I was also involved heavily with aggieTEACH, a program for students who wanted to become teachers, but still major in a STEM subject area. I graduated with a Bachelor of Arts in Mathematics with a Minor in Applied Learning in STEM. 

Teaching and Fun Facts

I am extremely excited to have joined the Santa Fe ISD family this year, and I am even more excited to be teaching the best two subjects any math teacher could teach. My passion and desire has always been to teach Calculus and Pre-Calculus, so I am looking forward to a great year full of excitement about math, learning, and applying everything we learn to the real world. Some fun facts:

1. I have been  playing music since I was 6 years old. I play guitar, violin, and sing. However, I meddle in a few other instruments.

2. I am younger than most teachers! (but you don't need to know my age)

3. My favorite thing to do besides music is play video games with my buddies.

4. I workout almost daily and love to swim, run, and bike. I have run one triathlon in the past, but I plan to run more once we are able to.

5. I live alone and I like it that way.

6. I love cooking. New recipes and good food will always get me excited.

7. I have never watched the following shows/movies: E.T., Breaking Bad, Big Mouth, Glee, Avatar the Last Air Bender, basically all anime, The Titanic, Independence day, and probably many more popular ones...

8. My favorite show is The Office. If you quote Michael Scott, I will give you a free high five.

9. My dog's name is "Duke" after the character, Duke Silver, from Parks and Rec.

rich_text    
Drag to rearrange sections
Rich Text Content
rich_text    

Page Comments